Thursday, July 25, 2013

Got on the Train....and then fell off, again


Little update since my first post last week.

- Yoga on Saturday was intense and fun. My friend S. (not the S. on this blog) went with me so I'd have a buddy, which was so nice of her. After the class was over, I was told that the instructor does more advanced moves that the other instructors at the gym, so it was good to know that for future classes. There were some poses I absolutely could not do -- sometimes due to flexibility, but honestly I felt like my big belly was getting in the way of a lot of things. It would be interesting to continue and see how/if I improve. I tried doing week two, day three of couch to 5k afterward but my legs were just so exhausted, there was no way! So I did about 10 min of running total, and then walked at a very slow pace for another 10 minutes. My body was feeling it for two days after the fact! I recommend it! Proud of myself for finishing out the week with 5/5 days for activity.

- Doing pretty okay on the no fried foods / no soda for 30 days. Wasn't having major cravings or anything. My biggest pitfall is work, so I made sure I packed a lunch each day and never ventured into the cafeteria. On Monday I texted my husband because we were planning on doing our Moe's Monday thang and that includes a free (soda) drink. I thought maybe I could handle having a soda there, because wasn't this challenge more about proving to myself that I don't *need* this stuff, rather than actually stopping drinking it all together? Anyway, he totally bought into my bargaining and agreed I could have a soda. What a turd! Proud of myself because I chose raspberry lemonade over the soda (which probably has equal caloric content, but that's a different issue). I also only had one cup, if any (usually I have about 2 cups of soda).

- I am happy to report that early Monday morning I woke up and went to the gym before work!! It was glorious. I did my first day of week three of c25k (never made it over the week 2 hump before, so proud of myself for that!), and then did some weight lifting on upper body. Had time to come home and make breakfast, shower, get ready for work -- all at a leisurely pace. Got to work earlier than normal, and generally felt less stressed. Wish I could say the same for Tuesday. ): Maybe that's also why I fell off the train? Tuesday is my break day. Plan this week is M, W, R, F, U (I work on Saturday). Depending on how I feel, I might do two weeks of week three because it was a bit more of a struggle for me.

- Tuesday was my falling off day. I worked an 8-hr shift at work and went to the grocery store afterward. It was 95-degrees out, humid, and I had finished my cup of ice water while driving from work to the store (really do not consume enough water at work, but that's something to talk about later). I should back this story up by saying that in my non-gettingfit/stayingfit life, I will typically purchase a 20-oz Pepsi upon checking out w/ my groceries. I tell myself it's okay because I just did all of this grocery shopping! Anyway, the grocery store can be a trigger for me due to this habit. And between being parched and feeling slightly stressed, I caved. I got myself a Pepsi, took two sips out of it, and decided it was pretty yuck. Upset with myself for falling off the bandwagon, but proud of myself for recognizing that I don't actually like the taste and it's not rehydrating. So, the 30-days starts over. There is a mini Mountain Dew sitting in the work fridge that stares at me everytime I open the door for lunch, and I'm hoping I don't cave on that thing because work is the most likely place that I will have a soda. So far, so good.

- And that brings us today, my second falling off day, though unintentional. This morning I had my annual labs drawn. I woke up around 7, the appt was at 8, and I was done around 9. I had to fast for these labs, so I was super hungry by the time I left the building. Like, starving. Breakfast is my thang and I sorta get crazy and moody without it. On top of that, I had woken up with a headache this morning (sinus, I think), so I was feeling very off. And the sound of a McDonald's Egg McMuffin sounded very tasty. I would normally purchase the meal and get an extra hashbrown with a side of medium Coke. Gross. The last time I had a hashbrown from there I told myself not to get them again because they are gross. So when I was driving home, only thinking about breakfast, I decided I would go there but not get the meal, just get a single McMuffin and still stay true to my goals, even if I don't normally want McDonald's for breakfast. I order my sandwich, pay, pick up bag and drive. Half way home, I open the bag and what is staring at me in my face? A freaking McGriddle (which I never had or desired to have until today) and a freaking hashbrown. What the what. Yup, so I ate it. I have no self control if it's in front of me. I can't believe I fell off this bandwagon because I definitely think it's the lesser of the evils as compared to soda! At least temptation wise. J. and I had even gone out to lunch on Saturday at a place that has *the* best french fries and I put my big girl panties and ordered a side salad instead! I could manage that, but I couldn't manage the oily hashbrown staring at me from the Monopoly-themed bag? Ugh. Disappointed in myself. But guess what? Tomorrow is a new day, and it is the NEW BEGINNING of my 30-days without. (By the way, I just looked up the meal -- 700 calories! Ugh.)

- And finally, my weigh in from Monday. I weigh in Monday mornings only. This week I lost 3lbs from the previous week. That's a total of 6lbs from the beginning of this journey several weeks ago (actually maybe a month ago? not sure). I had a week or more of bad habits / no gym / vacation which caused me to gain 3lbs back. Hoping this trend continues and I'm down at least a little this upcoming Monday. We'll see!

Thanks, S., for reading all of this! You are the pal-est of the pals. (:

-A

No comments:

Post a Comment