Friday, August 16, 2013

Brick. Wall.


This week hasn't been so good. At all.

First of all, I've been drinking soda. And eating fried food. Too much of the former, not as much the latter. It started on Sunday when I was working. Have I mentioned that the breakfast in the cafeteria is soooo good? Well, it is. Scrambled eggs (probably made from the powder), and their fried potatoes? MmmMmm. You have to wash it all down with a fountain Pepsi. That, my friend, is delicious. And unfortunately, completely filled with unnecessary fats and sugars. Well, I went down Sunday morning, thinking that I deserved such a breakfast (especially since I hadn't had one in such a long time), and I think that set my course for the rest of the week. On Monday when I grabbed a Raspberry Coke at Moe's, my husband questioned it, but I told him it's been just about a month so it's okay. And pretty much the rest of the week everything was terrible. Fast food and everything. Ga-ross.

Secondly, I talked last week about having issues running. Cramping, mostly. Well I changed shoes and tried again on Monday and, again, felt defeated. Same cramping problems. I talked to my husband about it -- everything -- and he thought maybe I'm running too slow. I set the treadmill at 4.2 mph when I'm "jogging" and I do think it causes my stride to be shortened. So, tonight I increased my speed to 6 mph and wahlah! No problems with calf strain, but I did run into a new problem -- breathlessness! I felt so short of breath after only running a minute! I'm definitely off with my running plan, so I feel very defeated. But I came up with a new plan for this upcoming week. I'm going to merge Week 3 and Week 4 together. M, T, W I am going to run (at 6 mph) Week 3; R, F, S I am going to run Week 4. I probably should have some rest time, so I might consider taking W off and picking up with Week 4 on R. I'll let you know how it goes. I'm still on pace with the schedule to be ready for the 5K in October, but I just hate feeling so defeated! I like feeling exhausted, but I hate feeling like I can't complete something.

Thirdly (which may contribute to point one and two), I have been dealing with migraines this week. I think it's weather related, as the temperature dropped and it's been overcast for a few days, but who knows. The first day I tried avoiding caffeine and chocolate (my first go-to's when headaching), but then caved. I can't tell if it helped at all or made it worse. Probably the latter. It sucks to wake up and feel like crap, ya know? I need to figure out a way to deal with that, because currently it has not been healthy.

I'm working all weekend, which always messes up my work out schedule (my gym is closed during my available hours). But, my husband got a new DVD for his birthday to use with his spin bike. I'm also going to map out a route that should coincide with the distance I should be completing with the Couch to 5K plan. Between those two options, I'll get my workouts.

One thing I'd like to start doing (I would say this week but I think I might be overshooting it...) is cross-training. Specifically with yoga, Zumba, and swimming laps. All are offered at my gym, so I should take advantage of them! More on that later.

Oh, and since I felt so cruddy, I never did do a weigh-in this week. I have done sporadic, non-official weigh-ins throughout the week and I've been within weight range, so I'm crossing my fingers I didn't gain any weight with all my bad decisions this week. Wish me luck!

-A

Thursday, August 8, 2013

A Lil' Update


Last week I started the fourth week of Couch to 5k. I had problems all week with it (the intervals are 5 min warm up/3 min running/90 sec walking/5 min running/2.5 min walking/3 min running/90 sec walking/5 min running). During the 5 minute running intervals, about 2 minutes in, my calves would cramp up like crazy. I would have to pause the treadmill, stretch my legs, and continue, to only be in pain for the duration, until my little break in running. It was terrible. But throughout the week, it seemed to be getting better. One thing I have definitely noticed is that I don't get as tired, out of breath, in my heart is pounding sort of way. So things are improving. I remember when week 2 seemed impossible! Anyway, so by the end of last week, I decided I should repeat week 4 so I feel more comfortable without the frequent pauses/stretching.

Over the weekend we stayed at a cabin in Georgia, so Saturday and Sunday we spent hiking (Sunday was our longer hiking day). Well, my calves, again, were cramping like crazy! They feel really tight and it's painful to walk with them (this was also during steep inclines during the hike). Usually my problem is that my heart is racing and I feel out of breath, but just like w/ the running program, same problem. Ugh.

On Monday I went to the gym like a good little girl (after fattening ourselves up on frozen custard in Greenville -- woowee!), and attempted, again, to complete week 4. And, again, my legs were cramping up like crazy, so soon into the run! I decided Tuesday would be a rest day, because after all, my muscles were still sore from weekend hiking. I talked to several friends that are runners and they seem to think it could be my shoes. That's entirely possible. The shoes I have been running in have been used several times for hikes, and perhaps there is too much wear and tear. So, I'm going to use my work shoes for the gym today (before going out and buying a brand new pair of shoes for running) and see what happens. But overall this week has felt very off with my workout schedule. Right now I need to work out today, Friday, Saturday, and Sunday to complete my 5/5 goal. It stinks because I work this weekend and the gym isn't open before I leave or after I come home from work. So, I'll have to plan long walks with my dog.

In other news, I weighed in on Tuesday (instead of Monday, because we weren't back into town the morning of), and I'm down another 2lbs. I was surprised because it was a vacation weekend and I consumed more than usual beer and wine. I guess the weekend hiking paid off, though! These 2lbs mean I'm down a total of 11lbs. Woohoo! I still don't really notice the difference with my body, and everything seems to be fitting the same. I'm hoping once I get to 20lbs of loss in a few months that's when I'll really be able to see it.

Well that's what is new in my neck of the woods. What about you, S.? (:

Sunday, July 28, 2013

Results Are In!


Remember one of my goals is to increase my HDL, decrease my LDL and decrease my Triglycerides? Well I just received the results of my annual labs and I thought I would share them here, compare them to years past, and use this as a place to return to when I want to reflect on 2014 labs.

2010
Cholesterol: 172 [<200 desirable]
Triglyceride: 235 [<150 normal; 200-499 HIGH]
HDL: 39 [>40 desirable; <50 (female) is major risk factor for CHD]
LDL: 86 [<100 optimal]

2011
Cholesterol: 156
Triglyceride: 150
HDL: 41
LDL: 85

2012
Cholesterol: 161
Triglyceride: 157
HDL: 43
LDL: 87

2013
Cholesterol: 147
Triglyceride: 98
HDL: 41
LDL: 90

I have to say, I am very very thrilled to see my triglyceride level so low! Diet is one of the greatest modifications you can make to see a difference in triglyceride level. I'm not sure why my level was so high in 2010, but it was frightening when I received that result. Birth control (hormone therapy) can increase triglyceride, and I was on birth control at the time (and actually had only been on it for a few months). However, in 2011 I was still on birth control and you can see there is a huge difference; maybe I was eating better? Or maybe my body had self-regulated w/ the extra hormones each day? Who knows. I'm disappointed to see my LDL creeping up, and I really wish my HDL were higher. Overall, I am pumped to see these numbers and hope to meet my goals for next year. Every time I have labs drawn I get a little anxious because I think the results will be terrible, but aside from the Triglyceride Scare of 2010, things have been pretty good. When I was donating blood regularly in FL, it was nice because you got a free cholesterol reading. The lowest mine was was 130. We'll see if I can get that low! For full disclosure sake, I do take fish oil and niacin, which are known to decrease cholesterol levels.

In other news, while running today and crying during an emotionally gripping part of Definitely Maybe, a woman crept up behind me to ask if I had seen her water bottle. She's lucky I didn't fall off the treadmill and knock her knees out. It's dark in there! Don't be scaring people! Especially if they are in the middle of a full-on tearfest!

-A

Thursday, July 25, 2013

Got on the Train....and then fell off, again


Little update since my first post last week.

- Yoga on Saturday was intense and fun. My friend S. (not the S. on this blog) went with me so I'd have a buddy, which was so nice of her. After the class was over, I was told that the instructor does more advanced moves that the other instructors at the gym, so it was good to know that for future classes. There were some poses I absolutely could not do -- sometimes due to flexibility, but honestly I felt like my big belly was getting in the way of a lot of things. It would be interesting to continue and see how/if I improve. I tried doing week two, day three of couch to 5k afterward but my legs were just so exhausted, there was no way! So I did about 10 min of running total, and then walked at a very slow pace for another 10 minutes. My body was feeling it for two days after the fact! I recommend it! Proud of myself for finishing out the week with 5/5 days for activity.

- Doing pretty okay on the no fried foods / no soda for 30 days. Wasn't having major cravings or anything. My biggest pitfall is work, so I made sure I packed a lunch each day and never ventured into the cafeteria. On Monday I texted my husband because we were planning on doing our Moe's Monday thang and that includes a free (soda) drink. I thought maybe I could handle having a soda there, because wasn't this challenge more about proving to myself that I don't *need* this stuff, rather than actually stopping drinking it all together? Anyway, he totally bought into my bargaining and agreed I could have a soda. What a turd! Proud of myself because I chose raspberry lemonade over the soda (which probably has equal caloric content, but that's a different issue). I also only had one cup, if any (usually I have about 2 cups of soda).

- I am happy to report that early Monday morning I woke up and went to the gym before work!! It was glorious. I did my first day of week three of c25k (never made it over the week 2 hump before, so proud of myself for that!), and then did some weight lifting on upper body. Had time to come home and make breakfast, shower, get ready for work -- all at a leisurely pace. Got to work earlier than normal, and generally felt less stressed. Wish I could say the same for Tuesday. ): Maybe that's also why I fell off the train? Tuesday is my break day. Plan this week is M, W, R, F, U (I work on Saturday). Depending on how I feel, I might do two weeks of week three because it was a bit more of a struggle for me.

- Tuesday was my falling off day. I worked an 8-hr shift at work and went to the grocery store afterward. It was 95-degrees out, humid, and I had finished my cup of ice water while driving from work to the store (really do not consume enough water at work, but that's something to talk about later). I should back this story up by saying that in my non-gettingfit/stayingfit life, I will typically purchase a 20-oz Pepsi upon checking out w/ my groceries. I tell myself it's okay because I just did all of this grocery shopping! Anyway, the grocery store can be a trigger for me due to this habit. And between being parched and feeling slightly stressed, I caved. I got myself a Pepsi, took two sips out of it, and decided it was pretty yuck. Upset with myself for falling off the bandwagon, but proud of myself for recognizing that I don't actually like the taste and it's not rehydrating. So, the 30-days starts over. There is a mini Mountain Dew sitting in the work fridge that stares at me everytime I open the door for lunch, and I'm hoping I don't cave on that thing because work is the most likely place that I will have a soda. So far, so good.

- And that brings us today, my second falling off day, though unintentional. This morning I had my annual labs drawn. I woke up around 7, the appt was at 8, and I was done around 9. I had to fast for these labs, so I was super hungry by the time I left the building. Like, starving. Breakfast is my thang and I sorta get crazy and moody without it. On top of that, I had woken up with a headache this morning (sinus, I think), so I was feeling very off. And the sound of a McDonald's Egg McMuffin sounded very tasty. I would normally purchase the meal and get an extra hashbrown with a side of medium Coke. Gross. The last time I had a hashbrown from there I told myself not to get them again because they are gross. So when I was driving home, only thinking about breakfast, I decided I would go there but not get the meal, just get a single McMuffin and still stay true to my goals, even if I don't normally want McDonald's for breakfast. I order my sandwich, pay, pick up bag and drive. Half way home, I open the bag and what is staring at me in my face? A freaking McGriddle (which I never had or desired to have until today) and a freaking hashbrown. What the what. Yup, so I ate it. I have no self control if it's in front of me. I can't believe I fell off this bandwagon because I definitely think it's the lesser of the evils as compared to soda! At least temptation wise. J. and I had even gone out to lunch on Saturday at a place that has *the* best french fries and I put my big girl panties and ordered a side salad instead! I could manage that, but I couldn't manage the oily hashbrown staring at me from the Monopoly-themed bag? Ugh. Disappointed in myself. But guess what? Tomorrow is a new day, and it is the NEW BEGINNING of my 30-days without. (By the way, I just looked up the meal -- 700 calories! Ugh.)

- And finally, my weigh in from Monday. I weigh in Monday mornings only. This week I lost 3lbs from the previous week. That's a total of 6lbs from the beginning of this journey several weeks ago (actually maybe a month ago? not sure). I had a week or more of bad habits / no gym / vacation which caused me to gain 3lbs back. Hoping this trend continues and I'm down at least a little this upcoming Monday. We'll see!

Thanks, S., for reading all of this! You are the pal-est of the pals. (:

-A

Friday, July 19, 2013


After working a stretch of days, I hardly ever want to get off my butt and do something productive. Today was no different. I slept in until 10:30 (what!), finished the first season of New Girl, brushed my teeth, did some dishes, and finally put on clothes. It was a gorgeous (read: fully sunny and hot) day outside, but I couldn't bring myself to making my way out there. Instead, I called my husband at work and asked if he would please play tennis and go on a bike ride with me after work. He agreed to tennis. So, we headed to the courts near our house and the sun was in.tense. We played for a bit (very poorly, I might add), and then went home to relax. There is a big lake by our house, and I've been wanting to ride our bikes around it. Instead, we took our dog for a long walk. Not the most active day, and I probably would have made my way to the gym if we hadn't spent time outside, but I'm still glad I got off my rump. This is day 4 of 5 for activity!

Tomorrow I am planning to do yoga for the first time! That shall be interesting. And then I also finished up my second week of couch to 5k. Actually tomorrow is supposed to be really busy, so I'm excited. I love action packed weekends.

Alrighty, must go now.. Finishing up a batch of homemade mint icecream!

-A

Wednesday, July 17, 2013

First Post!


Hello! I'm A, a good friend of S, and only recently discovered this blog. I practically begged her to let me join as a co-author, because I have had a secret fitness blog (that I have never written in) for over three years now. Like most, I've struggled with getting fit and staying fit for a long time. S has been a great motivator for me! We often text one another how we are doing with going to the gym or eating right, and what better way than to expand that to this forum?!

Unlike E and S, I'm not on WW (though I did try for a little bit last year..). My good friend K has lost a ton of weight using WW (and kept it off!). She is such an inspiration; maybe I'll talk about her more later. My diet principles are these:

- Lotsa veggies
- Even more fruit
- Limit breads
- Moderation!

Ideally, and if I had the will power, I would cut dairy from my diet almost entirely, but cheese is almost an addiction. Okay, not that far, but I would say at least one, if not two, meals of my day include some form of cheese. (Today? breakfast, lunch AND dinner had cheese - yikes!) I used to be a vegetarian for several years, but currently I am a meat eater. We don't cook it in the house a ton, and when we do, it's usually chicken or fish.

I find myself getting off and on the fitness band wagon more regularly than my menstrual cycle. I'll be realllllly good for a little bit and then have some sort of slip up that sets me on a downward spiral. Like S, I was recently on a vacation and that was the beginning of a terrible end. I think I gained 4lbs that trip? Yikes.

Welp, I'm back on the wagon, and I'm hoping this blog (and my dear friend S) will help me be more accountable! I'd like to share my short term and long term goals and then post as frequently as I can about how I'm doing.

A's Short Term Health Goals:
- Stop drinking soda. Just. Stop.
- No fried food for 30 days (starting tomorrow, 7/18!) (it's harder than ever to do in the south)
- No candy bars for 30 days (starting tomorrow, 7/18!) (even more difficult when I'm at work)
- Drink more water. As always.
- Exercise regularly (5x/week)
- Become a morning-gym kinda gal (working on it...)

A's Long Term Health Goals:
- Run first 5k. (Signed up for it tonight with S and our husbands! 10/5!)
- Decrease SBP and DBP by 10 points
- Feel more in control of dietary decisions
- Exercise regularly (5x/week)
- Increase HDL, Decrease LDL, Decrease Triglycerides
- Decrease upper arm circumference

I probably have a thousand more goals than those listed, but that's a good place to start.

As I told S, tonight wasn't my best gym night. Intended on going to the gym before work, but my alarm possibly didn't go off? Hard to believe but my husband didn't hear it either... SO I went tonight after dinner (cheeseburger, grilled asparagus, whole fruit smoothie) and found myself alone in the cardio cinema room. (Cardio Cinema Room = My Hideout) Titanic was playing and it was at the very touching moment that old granny Kate Winslet throws the blue heart back into the ocean. Cue Celine Dion, and I'm on the elliptical doing intervals and breathlessly belting out 'My Heart Will Go On' while also thinking it might stop at the highest interval. Did about 15 minutes of that rapid cardio, then headed to the private women's workout with plans to work on legs and abs. (New schedule this week Days 1/3/5 = couch to 5k, arms, abs; Days 2/4 = cardio, legs, abs) The leg machines are pretty terrible but my thighs were sore afterward so that says something. I did some ab stuff but then kinda felt my smoothie working it's way back up my throat, and after a total of 40 minutes at the gym, I decided to call it quits.

Plan for tomorrow: go in morning.

Go in morning.

Go. In. Morning.


I'll let you know what happens.

-A

So much to do... so little time

S here! The past few weeks have been crazy! Work has been keeping me super busy and I've been finding it very hard to stay true to fitness and diet plans. Last week was the first time I went to Weight Watchers in a month! I've been traveling for work and then went on a family vacation. However, something that I love is that it always feels good to go back. My Weight Watchers leader Tara is amazing. She is always kind and provides encouragement just when I need it. 

I started this week with a renewed sense of direction. I went to Zumba on Saturday and then again on Monday. Zumba is such a great, fun work out. If you've never tried it, you really should. Going to Weight Watchers put me back on my nutrition track and going to Zumba has put back on my fitness track. My currently goal is to go at least three times a week to Zumba and to track my food everyday. I definitely eat better when I keep track of what I'm eating. 

Wish me luck!

S